Original Broadway Cast (1961)

Track List

  • Tracks

    Delete Track List Section

    Are you sure that you want to delete this section?

    • The Cocoa Bean Song .... Ako, Two Members of the Tribe (Scott Gibson and Gordon Watkins) and the Company
    • Welcome Home .... Three Members of the Tribe (Scott Gibson, Lee Hooper, Michael Quashie) and the Company
    • The Sun Is Beginning to Crow .... The Company
    • Did You Hear That? .... Eve and Kwamina
    • You're As English As .... Eve
    • Seven Shirts, Four Red Shirts, A Bottle of Gin .... Men of the Tribe (Joseph Attles, Scott Gibson, Charles Queenan, Charles Tipton) and the Company
    • Nothing More to Look Forward To .... Ako and Naii
    • What's Wrong with Me? .... Eve
    • Something Big .... The Company
    • Ordinary People .... Eve and Kwamina
    • A Man Can Have No Choice .... Obitsebi
    • What Happned to Me .... Eve
    • One Wife .... Mammy Trader, Alla and Women (Issa Arnal, Victoria Harrison, Lee Hooper, Mary Louise and Helen Phillips)
    • Another Time, Another Place .... Eve

Trivia & History

The recording was made after the production closed. The booklet for the CD issue gives the recording date as November 18, 1961, but that is incorrect. That was the final day of the Broadway run, which was a Saturday. There were two performances that day and so it's clear that the cast recording was not made that day. Variety reported that the recording was made on November 20, two days after the closing, and we follow suit here as the booklet is clearly wrong about this.

Cover Art

Copyright ©2021
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us