Fiddler on the Roof

Orbis Musicals Collection Cast (1996)

Back to Show

Recording Info

Recording Type: Commercial
Origin: Studio
Material Included: Songs Only

Track List

The song list for this recording has been verified as complete.


  • Tradition .... Tevye and Company
  • Matchmaker .... Hodel, Tzeitel and Chava
  • If I Were a Rich Man .... Tevye
  • Sabbath Prayer .... Tevye, Golde and Company
  • To Life .... Tevye, Lazar and Men
  • Miracle of Miracles .... Motel
  • Tevye's Dream .... Tevye, Golde, Grandma Tzeitel, Rabbi, Fruma-Sarah and Company
  • Sunrise, Sunset .... Tevye, Golde, Perchik, Hodel and Company
  • Now I Have Everything .... Perchik and Hodel
  • Do You Love Me? .... Tevye and Golde
  • Far from the Home I Love .... Hodel
  • Anatevka .... Tevye, Golde, Yente, Lazar, Avram and Mendel

Trivia & History

This CD was available as part of a subscription to The Musicals Collection, a series of 75 CDs available through Orbis Books. Subscribers received a recording each month. All the CDs were licensed from recordings produced by TER/JAY.

In the late 1990s, TER/JAY had announced a recording of the complete score of Fiddler on the Roof with the principal cast members heard on this issue but this particular disc, containing the 12 major numbers, is all that has ever been issued. 

The cast list in the recording's booklet lists Howard Samuels as Motel, but it is Gregg Edelman who performs the role. Edelman recorded the role, or at least "Miracle of Miracles," for the complete version of the recording.* For this issue, Howard Samuels was supposed to have been heard in place of Edelman, but (according to John Yap, the recording's producer) the wrong track (the one with Edelman) was issued.

* It's not clear how much of the score was recorded. It may be that what is heard here is all that was recorded, especially since a couple of numbers either cut off rather suddenly or are missing introductory dialogue that you might expect. For example, "To Life" cuts off in the middle of dance preceding the solo sung by the Russian villager. And while the dialogue leading into "Matchmaker" is here, other numbers are missing introductory that you might expect to be there, although all the spoken sections of "Tradition" are here. So it may be that some of the music or dialogue that you might expect to be heard with some of these numbers had simply never been recorded.

The orchestra on the recording is the National Symphony Orchestra.

Issued by JAY in 2018 as a download with Spiro Malas finally credited as Lazar Wolf but with the role of Motel still incorrectly credited to Howard Samuels.

Recording Info

Recording Type: Commercial
Origin: Studio
Material Included: Songs Only


Audio Clips

No audio yet.

Copyright ©2023
Change Log | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us