A Little Night Music

Pre-Broadway (Boston) (1973)



No staff listed.


Mr. Lindquist
Mrs. Nordstrom
Mrs. Anderssen
Mr. Erlanson
Mrs. Segstrom
Fredrika Armfeldt
Madame Armfeldt
Henrik Egerman
Anne Egerman
Fredrik Egerman
Desiree Armfeldt
Count Carl-Magnus Malcolm
Countess Charlotte Malcolm

Track List

  • Tracks

    Delete Track List Section

    Are you sure that you want to delete this section?

    • Overture .... Mr. Lindquist, Mrs. Nordstrom, Mrs. Anderssen, Mr. Erlanson, Mrs. Segstrom
    • Night Waltz .... Company
    • Later .... Henrik
    • Now .... Fredrik
    • Soon .... Anne, Henrik, Fredrik
    • The Glamorous Life .... Fredrika, Desiree, Malla, Madame Armfeldt, Mrs. Nordstrom, Mrs. Segstrom, Mrs. Anderssen, Mr. Lindquist, Mr. Erlanson
    • Remember? .... Mr. Lindquist, Mrs. Nordstrom, Mrs. Segstrom, Mr. Erlanson, Mrs. Anderssen
    • You Must Meet My Wife .... Desiree, Fredrik
    • Liaisons .... Madame Armfeldt
    • Bang! .... Carl-Magnus, Desiree
    • Every Day a Little Death .... Charlotte, Anne
    • A Weekend in the Country .... Company
    • Entr'acte .... Orchestra
    • The Sun Won't Set .... Mrs. Anderssen, Mrs. Segstrom, Mrs. Nordstrom, Mr. Lindquist, Mr. Erlanson
    • Perpetual Anticipation .... Mrs. Nordstrom, Mrs. Segstrom, Mrs. Anderssen
    • Silly People .... Frid
    • Send in the Clowns .... Desiree
    • The Miller's Son .... Petra
    • Finale .... Company

Trivia & History

  • Some differences from the version that opened on Broadway: There's a different sequencing of numbers in the first scene at the Egermans' ("Later" precedes "Now"); a far more complex version of "The Glamorous Life," including material later restored for the national tour and the London production but not published; some underscoring that is not in the final version (though it's in the movie version); "Bang!" is there instead of "In Praise of Women" (and it's a shorter version of "Bang!" than the version published and recorded elsewhere, without any contributions from the quintet); some different lyrics in "Perpetual Anticipation"; "It Would Have Been Wonderful" is not yet in the show (though the Boston playbill for the opening listed a song titled "Thoughts on the Terrace" in that spot so clearly something was planned); and "Silly People" is in the show. 
  • The book is almost identical to the final version, with just a few small cuts and changes (perhaps most notably, a different final scene for Madame Armfeldt and Fredrika) and most of the score is in place. 

Copyright ©2022 ovrtur.com
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us