A Little Night Music


Click on the title for info on the song.

Studio Cast Recordings

Recordings listed here were done in the studio specifically to release as recordings. They do not represent cast recordings of a particular production.

Studio Cast (1990)
Eric Flynn, Janis Kelly, Bonaventura Bottone, Megan Kelly, Siân Phillips

Demos & Pre-Production Recordings

Source Material

Suggested by the 1955 Ingmar Bergman film Smiles of a Summer Night


From the Music Theatre International website:

Set in 1900 Sweden, A Little Night Music explores the tangled web of affairs centered around actress Desirée Armfeldt and the men who love her: a lawyer by the name of Fredrik Egerman and the Count Carl-Magnus Malcom. When the traveling actress performs in Fredrik's town, the estranged lovers' passion rekindles. This strikes a flurry of jealousy and suspicion between Desirée, Fredrik, Fredrick's wife, Anne, Desirée's current lover, the Count, and the Count's wife, Charlotte. Both men -- as well as their jealous wives -- agree to join Desirée and her family for a weekend in the country at Desirée's mother's estate. With everyone in one place, infinite possibilities of new romances and second chances bring endless surprises.

Trivia & History

The cut song, "Night Waltz IV" ("Not Quite Night"), was originally titled "Night Waltz II". When Stephen Sondheim wrote additional waltzes the title was changed. Of the four waltzes written, three are used in the show: "Night Waltz" which follows the sung overture and which is reprised at the end of the show, the latter reprise sometimes referred to as "Last Waltz"; "The Sun Won't Set"; and "Night Waltz II" also called "D Major Waltz" and "Liebeslieders".

See more

Alternate Titles

  • Smiles of a Summer Night (source material)

Copyright ©2020 ovrtur.com