The Band Wagon

Original Broadway Cast Members (1931)





Track List

  • Tracks

    Delete Track List Section

    Are you sure that you want to delete this section?

  • Opening
  • New Sun in the Sky
  • I Love Louisa
  • Sweet Music
  • High and Low
  • Hoops
  • Confession
  • New Sun in the Sky
  • I Love Louisa
  • Dancing in the Dark
  • Five Star Finale
  • The Beggar Waltz
  • White Heat .... (Arthur Schwartz, piano, followed by Fred Astaire with Leo Reisman and his orchestra)
  • Hoops (reprise) .... unidentified orchestra ; Russell Bennett, conductor
  • High and Low (reprise) .... Clifford Mollinson and Jean Collin, singers

Trivia & History

These tracks, most of them recorded by RCA in 1931, were reissued by Smithsonian in 1980 on an LP.  Three additional tracks were added.

After the short Overture Leo Reisman introduces Fred and Adele Astaire as well as Schwartz and Dietz and they all say "Hello". Actually, Dietz was not at the recording session and Schwartz, changing the tone of his voice, says 'Hello' for him.

Although Leo Reisman's Orchestra was not the original orchestra this could still be considered the first original cast album. The original 10' LP was an experimental non-microgroove album with ten minutes per side. These LP's were not released as there was no home equipment to play them on in 1931.

Cover Art

Copyright ©2020